Chicken & Ritz! (Oven Fried)

So this year I decided to get my life together and really be more thoughtful about what I put into my body. That is hard to do when you are indoctrinated to love and desire certain foods. The southern girl in me will never part with Mac & Cheese, Grits, or other awesome fatty foods, but the girl in me that wants a long and healthy life will find ways to modify them. So here’s my recipe for Oven Fried Chicken made awesome with the help of a common snack!

Chicken & Ritz
Prep Time: 20 mins Cook Time: 35-40 mins

What you’ll need:

  • 3-4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • 1/2 C Plain Greek Nonfat Yogurt
  • 1/2 C Course spicy mustard
  • 1/2 Roll of Reduced Fat Ritz Crackers, crushed
  • Seasonings (Seasoned Salt, Pepper, Garlic Salt)
  • Pyrex Dish

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 350º.

Always be careful when preparing chicken. I like to leave the water running so I can wash my hands frequently. Also, you can rinse the chicken down with Lemon juice to clean it off a bit. When I have really thick chicken breasts I pound them with a meat hammer or the flat end of a heavy pan just to thin them out a little bit.

To crush your Ritz crackers you can put the crackers in a bowl and use the back of a wooden spoon to crush them. They should look like big bread crumbs when you’re done. Spread the crumbs out on a plate

Begin with your chicken breasts. Season them liberally with your seasonings.

Using the small bowl you made the crumbs in, mix the yogurt and the mustard. Spread this mixture on the chicken breasts until completely covered. Using tongs rolls the chicken over the crumbs on the plate. You may have to just place the chicken on the plate and cover the top and the sides with the crumbs. Just make sure you cover the chicken with the crumbs and you don’t make a huge mess. If you run out of crumbs, make some more! Once done I throw a tiny dash of more seasonings on top of the crumbs. Seasoning is a habit hard to break. 🙂

Please each chicken breast in a Pyrex dish sprayed with canola oil cooking spray and then slide into the oven!

The crust will turn nice and golden and then inside will be juicy. It’s really hard for me to say how long to cook, but after 30 mins stick a knife into the thickest part of the chicken breast and see if the juices run pink. If not you’re all a good, if pink, they need to cook a little longer.

Serve with some veggies and rice and you’re all set. Here is mine on top of brown rice with cabbage. I’ve even done this with fish!

Leave a Reply

