Sausage & Potato Frittata

As I get older I find myself getting deeper and deeper into my Southern ways. So much so that I now mix my food up. I went from hating to have it touch to making sure my fork has a bit of everything on it before I devour it. Kind of funny I suppose. I really think my tastebuds are refining and they love the way salty mixes with sweet, and the various textures together. Along that same vein I also love to simplify breakfast. For me, the best way to do that is to reduce the number of pots and pans I use yet still come up with a dynamic dish. So how could I mix my eggs, sausage, hashbrowns, etc together and it still come out phenomenal? A FRITTATA! I made this dish for a friend of mine when she came in from out of town. Now I shall share it for you!

Sausage & Potato Frittata
Prep Time: 45 mins Cook Time: 15 mins

What you’ll need:

  • 5-6 Russet Potatoes, cut into tiny squares
  • 6 large or jumbo eggs
  • 1 package sausage (I use turkey. You can buy these crumbled and already cooked to save a skillet)
  • 1 sweet onion, diced
  • 1 C Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • 4 tablespoons oil
  • Seasoning Salt, Pepper, Garlic Salt
  • Splash of Milk

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350°.

Clean and dice your potatoes and onions. I chopped my onion to get bigger pieces because I love onions. Heat up a large skillet with the oil and carefully add the onions and potatoes. Saute and stir in the skillet as the onions soften and caramelize. Hopefully you’re using a large enough skillet, so make a hole in the potatoes and add the sausage. Crumble with a spatula and cook until browned. So now you have the potatoes, onions, and the sausage cooking in the skillet. Season liberally with your seasonings. When cooked through, drain off the oil and grease and set the skillet aside.

In a bowl crack all of your eggs, making sure you exclude any shells. Add a splash of milk, salt, and pepper. Beat eggs until yolks are combined.

Spray a 13 X 9 Pyrex dish with cooking spray and add the potato, sausage, and onions to the dish. Pour the egg mixture over the sausage and potatoes. Top with shredded cheddar cheese.

Bake in the oven until the eggs are set, about 15 mins. Once done, remove and cut into squares! You can serve alone, with toast, or any side dish you like! Yum! I served mine with cinnamon rolls and mini pancakes. 🙂

***You can jazz it up by adding colorful peppers, various cheeses (feta and bleu would be great), or even different meats! Spinach would be a great addition too!

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Leave a Reply

