Lemon Garlic Steak

*Don’t forget to vote for JG* Runs The Kitchen for Best Cooking Blog in the 2010 Black Weblog Awards. Click Here*

Are you or someone you love a steak and potatoes kind of person? Well if you find yourself nodding to yourself and salivating right now I have something awesome for you.

I love steak, but I don’t really think of eating it all the time. The Beau is a pretty simple eater. I will tell him something jazzy that I want to make and he’ll be like “Okay, whatever works.” This drive me crazy. Or he’ll respond with “oh, you… you’re fancy huh?” LOL This is why I love him. I want to make turkey tenderloin wrapped in puff pastry he asks me if that’s basically a pig in a blanket. *sigh*

So because he loves steak so much, and I admit that I’m a fan too, I make it often. But I have to find ways to make it taste different each time or I’ll go crazy. I have my standard secret marinade that I use most of the time, but now I have this awesome recipe that I love and I can play around with it.

I like making lemon & garlic based sauces, so I decided to put it to a steak. Plus this is great for when I don’t really have the time for a full marinade.

Here we go!

Lemon Garlic Steak:
Prep Time: 20 mins. Cook Time: 15 mins.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 Steaks. I used 2 Angus Steaks
  • Zest of 1 Lemon
  • 2 cloves of Garlic, minced
  • 1/3 C dry White wine. Eyeball it. 🙂
  • Seasoned Salt & Pepper
  • Garlic Powder
  • Parsley Flakes
  • 2 tbs Olive Oil

Preparation:

Season your steaks with the garlic powder, seasoned salt, and pepper. I poke holes in the steak because I feel this makes the seasonings seep into the meat. But what do I know. Let it rest for a few minutes.

In the meantime heat the olive oil in a large skillet. When it starts to smoke a little add your steaks to the skillet.

Brown on both sides, about 4 minutes each.  Now add your lemon zest (go easy at first, you don’t want the lemon to be too powerful if you don’t like it) and garlic. Allow the garlic to cook for about a minute then add the white wine to de-glaze the pan. This will pick up the drippings at the bottom of the pan from the steaks. Move the steaks around in this “sauce” that’s starting to develop. Cook for about another 2 minutes or until your desired doneness. I’m a medium-rare to medium kind of girl. Add the parsley flakes.

Remove steaks and set aside to rest and finish cooking. Keep the sauce in the skillet and cook down until it reduces by about half. Stir to keep the remaining oil and wine combined. Pour on top of steaks and serve with desired sides! Easy! You can play with it by adding mushrooms!

A little more cooked than I like, but it was super juicy and tender!

You can also do this same recipe with Steak Tips! See!

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Comments
2 Responses to “Lemon Garlic Steak”
  1. This looks so good! I can taste it right now!

Leave a Reply

