Party Treat: Lamb Lollipops

*Don’t forget to vote for JG* Runs The Kitchen for Best Cooking Blog in the 2010 Black Weblog Awards. Click Here*

As tailgate and football party season begins I will start posting party food ideas and planning tips that I think are fun and will take your party up a notch. As you can see my Birthday Party was smashing. It looked pretty an it tasted great! Here’s one of the finger foods that I served that you can serve now too!

Lamb Lollipops:
Prep Time: 15 mins. Cook time: 15 mins. Yield: Approximately 18 servings (34 pops)

What you’ll need:

  • 2 lbs Ground Lamb
  • 1 lb Ground beef
  • 1/3 C chopped scallions (Green onions)
  • Seasoned Salt
  • Pepper
  • Dry Mustard
  • Oregano
  • Sage (pinch)
  • Ground Corriander
  • Garlic Salt
  • Onion Powder
  • Cumin (dash)
  • Smoky Paprika
  • 2 tbs Olive Oil
  • 2 tbs Minced Garlic
  • Small Popsicle sticks or wooden skewers

Preparation:

Break up the ground lamb & ground beef into a bowl. Roughly combine with your fingers. Add the scallions and the seasons liberally. I usually do an initial sprinkle of the seasonings then I mix the meat with my fingers. Then another seasoning, and more combining with my fingers. Only use a tiny bit of the Cumin. Drizzle the olive oil in as you finish combining. Honestly I put dang-near every seasoning I had into these. Perfect!

Once well seasoned and combined thoroughly, section the meat and roll into balls. You can decide how big you want them but remember you are going to put skewers in these so you don’t want them to be too big and take too long to cook.

When I made these I placed them on the skewers first, but I don’t think I’ll do that next time. You can do it either way you like. Put lamb balls (with or without skewers) into a pan and refrigerate for at least an hour or overnight.

To cook, saute in a skillet until cooked throughout. Approximately 5 minutes on each side. If you didn’t add the skewers now is the time to do it. You can finish them off in a 350º oven for another five minutes.

Serve with any dipping sauce. Greek Tzatziki sauce is good too! I made my own sauce that I randomly created along with my co-host Ashley.

Our “Lamb Sauce”

  • Pinch of Mint sauce (you can buy this at a Market that sells lamb. ONLY use a pince)
  • 1/4 C Greek Yogurt
  • 3 Tbs Sour Cream
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Dash Garlic Salt
  • Dash Sugar
  • 1 tbs Mayonaise
  • Dash Hot Sauce

Combine all of the above ingredients. Play around with it. I just added and added and mixed until we liked it!

Enjoy! These will make you REAL fancy and a party favorite! Stay tuned for more party recipes!

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Comments
2 Responses to “Party Treat: Lamb Lollipops”
  1. jetara says:

    I may have to try this. My cousin recently said they tried lamb chops and love them. So I guess the next family gathering I shall take some type of lamb dish.

Leave a Reply

