Quesadillas & Tequila!

*Don’t forget to vote for JG* Runs The Kitchen for Best Cooking Blog in the 2010 Black Weblog Awards. Click Here*

Often times I decide on what I’m going to cook depending on what genre I feel like enjoying. Or what country I feel like visiting with my taste buds. I’ll think “am I feeling Italian tonight? Greek? Asian? Caribbean?” and from there I will develop a menu to take me away. This particular evening I was looking at the Tequila bottle longingly (I’m trying not to drink any liquor outside of wine for the benefit of my belly) and I decided that I needed to find a way to incorporate that bottle into my life. Ding ding ding! Quesadillas was the choice and I instantly became a happy camper.

Check me out.

Quesadillas & Tequila
Prep Time: 10 mins Cook Time: 10-15 mins

What You’ll Need:

  • 2 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts or Angus Steak. I did Chicken this time.
  • 3 Peppers. Red, Green Orange, Yellow. Your choice. I went with R,O,Y.
  • 1 Onion. I like either red or sweet yellow. This time I did sweet yellow
  • Seasoned Salt
  • Pepper
  • Shredded Cheese. I love the fiesta mix.
  • 1/4 C Jose Gold (or whatever you like) + 1 shot
  • 6 small flour tortilla shells or 3 large. Big or small, up to you.

Preparation:

Start out admiring all of your goodies.

At this point you should be aware that tonight is going to be a good night.

Next, cut the chicken, onion, and peppers into thin slices. Keeping the veggies separate from the chicken because they have different cook times.

Now season the chicken with your salt and pepper, throw in some red pepper flakes if you’d like for a bit of kick and add to the skillet. Cook the chicken until you can no longer see pink from the outside of the chicken. About 6 minutes.

Then add your veggies. Right when you add these, throw in that 1/4 C of Tequila.

Continue to cook until the onions are translucent and soft. The peppers should be soft with a bit of a crunch to them.

Now here’s were my little secret comes into play. Perhaps everyone does this I don’t know, but to me it makes all the difference. In a small side bowl, empty out the amount of cheese you think you’d like to use. I use a lot. Now season the cheese with the Lowery’s. This. Makes. The. Quesadillas. AWESOME.

Now there are two ways you can create this wonderfulness. If you are using large tortillas then you just load up half the tortilla and fold over. I prefer this method. If like me, you only have the smaller ones that night, you can use two and make a sandwich of sorts.

In the hot pan that you’ve cleaned off, add some cooking spray and lay down the first tortilla. I like to build in the pan, it’s easier I think.

I do a layer of cheese, the chicken & veggies, another layer of cheese, and then the top tortilla. Cook for about 2 minutes on each side allowing the cheese to melt everything together and brown the outsides.

Cut up however you like and serve with some lettuce, sour cream, and salsa! Great side additions would be Spanish Rice, Refried Beans, or even Cheesy Fried Jalepenos! The world is yours!

Now that dinner is ready, take that shot and get to eatin’!

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Leave a Reply

