Vegans Rejoice! “Chicken” Salad & A Green Smoothies!

*Don’t forget to vote for JG* Runs The Kitchen for Best Cooking Blog in the 2010 Black Weblog Awards. Click Here*

Shout out to all my healthy eaters!

Last year I participated in the Daniel Fast with my church. It was EXTREMELY difficult. Not only was I having to limit my intake drastically, but I was also training for a 5k. Harsh, but I managed, and unlike so many of my fellow churchgoers I did not lose any weight. LOL Even though what I was eating had changed, I was still eating (before 7 of course). I went to a vegan store and got hip to how they eat and I was happily surprised. I introduce to you Soy Curls!

soycurlslg

Interesting right? Well, I couldn’t wait to try some things with them so one night I gave them a try. I experimented quite a bit with Vegan cheeses and meats, some were a go and some emptied my already starving stomach. Here’s the deal with Soy Curls. They are hard, and you have to re-hydrate them. You do this by soaking them in hot water for 10 minutes. Then you season them and cook in a skillet to be whatever you want them to be. Whether it’s beef or chicken or whatever. That night I made “Chicken” salad with a few soy curls and it was yum! The guy at the vegan store really put me on to them. I told him I was big on texture which is why tofu was just out of the question for me. He pointed me right to these.

“Chicken” Salad:
Prep Time: 10 mins Cook Time: 5-6 mins

  • Soy Curls
  • Veganaise (Mayo)
  • Celery
  • Garlic power,
  • Garlic salt
  • Poultry seasoning or chicken flavoring
  • Celery salt
  • Chopped onions
  • Chopped Celery

Preparation:

Re-hydrate the soy curls for 10 minutes in hot/warm water. Drain and season with poultry seasoning. Place in skillet for about 5 minutes along with onions. When finished, place the onions and soy curls back in a bowl, mix with Veganaise, Celery, Garlic Salt/Power and Celery Salt to taste. And you’re done!

I wish I would have taken a picture. But it was delish! I later went on to use the soy curls to make General Tso’s Chicken, Garlic Chicken, and Teriyaki Beef. I ate these even after the Fast was over!

~~~~

This next recipe is great for a snack or an on-the-go breakfast packed full of awesomeness.

Green Smoothie Awesomeness:
Prep Time 5 mins Cook Time: 1-2 mins in the blender

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 C Pineapple
  • 2 Celery Sticks
  • Handful of Collard Greens

smoothie

Preparation:

Put in blender and BLEND. This was AMAZING. I started making smoothies left and right using combination’s of fruit and veggies. Fruit is nature’s sweetener and so you would be surprised just how sweet and tasty these came out. The veggies just faded into the background!  Here are a few more combos you can try.

JG* Smoothie #2

  • 1 banana
  • Handful of Strawberries
  • Handful of Spinach
  • Splash of Water

JG* Smoothie #3

  • 3-4 celery sticks
  • 1 Tbs of grated ginger
  • 1-2 apple or banana or pear (you choose)
  • 2 cups water

JG* Smoothie #4

  • 2 large ripe bananas
  • 2 Kiwis
  • 1 Handful Green Grapes
  • 2 large handfuls of kale,
  • 1 small handful of parsley,
  • 1 handful of baby spinach
  • 2 cups of water

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Leave a Reply

