Chicken, Broccoli & Rice Cheesy Casserole

Shame on it all. I notice that I seem to really love cheese. It’s true. I’m no Urkel or anything, but I truly love the stuff.  So I wanted something chickeny, cheesy, yet with veggies, and this is what I came up with. It’s a pretty common meal, but it can be made a million and one different ways. I will show you guys my way.

Chicken, Broccoli, & Rice Cheesy Casserole
Prep Time: 20 mins Cook Time: 30 mins.

What you’ll need:

  • 2-3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 Cups chopped broccoli
  • 1 box Uncle Ben’s Long Grain Wild Rice
  • 1 Can Cream of Chicken (I like the kind with the herbs)
  • 1 Can Creamed Cheddar Cheese (You can make a roux and your own sauce, but that defeats the point of this being quick)
  • 1/ 2 C of Milk
  • 1/2 C Shredded Cheese
  • 1 Can French’s Fried Onions
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Seasoned Salt
  • Pyrex Dish

Preparation
Preheat oven to 350°.

Dice up chicken into small chunks and then sprinkle with seasoned salt. Spray a large skillet and cook diced chicken over medium-high heat. Make sure it is done.

You can do this step at the same time. Prepare the broccoli as stated on the package or just microwave in a microwave-safe bowl with a splash of water for 5 mins.

In another saucepan (okay this doesn’t sound simple when you type it all out lol) prepare the rice per the directions on the box.

I didn’t realize I used this many saucepans. I think it’s because I began to combine things and therefore re-using them. You can put the broccoli in with the chicken now and use that saucepan to make the creamy sauce. Now that you have a free saucepan, empty the cream of chicken and cream of cheddar cheese into it with the milk. Add a little bit of salt & pepper and just stir until combined. It should be thin and saucy.

Finally, combine ALL  the ingredients including 1/3 of the fried onions and pour into your Pyrex dish. Top with 1/2 C of shredded cheese and bake in the oven until the cheese has melted. About 5 minutes before it’s done sprinkle the rest of the fried onions onto the casserole and bake for the remaining 5 minutes.

It’s so good. I promise.

Cheeeeeesy!

Adding the crunchies!

Voila! The Finale!

I can’t tell you guys how much I loved this. It was even better the second day!

*I want to add a sidenote, it might be easier to combine everything uncooked, or only cooking the broccoli and chicken, but I’m paranoid and I liked knowing that everything was cooked-through before putting it in the oven. Plus I drastically reduded my baking time by doing it that way. Play around with it! It’s your world!

**Also try it with pasta! Like egg noddles or spiral pasta!

*** Get real crazy and add carrots and peas!

Sugar kisses!

JG*

Comments
2 Responses to “Chicken, Broccoli & Rice Cheesy Casserole”
  1. keilabee says:

    Cooked this for dinner tonight and not only was it easy, it was delicious! (Besides the fact that I def should have added more cheese on top 🙂 Can’t wait to see how it tastes tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

