Meatloaf and Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower

I’ve been on a bit of a health kick. Since I prepare 98% of the meals that I consume I try to be conscious of what I’m doing. So with that said, I try to use alternatives where possible and I try to reduce the bad things as much as I can.

I had a hankering for meatloaf and so I knew that meant that I had to make it ASAP. What I also knew what that I was going to want mashed potatoes with it. That’s when I realized I had a problem. I eat a lot of pasta and I’m trying to curb that. What I need to stop doing is including so many bad carbs in my diet. So I needed an alternative. I recalled one day eating at a spot in ATL and having mashed cauliflower. Insert superhero “BAMF!’ and there goes my alternative!

So here is my recipe for meatloaf as well as mashed cauliflower. You can thank me now. 🙂

Meatloaf & Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower:
Prep Time: 25 mins Cook Time: Varies. See Recipe.

Meatloaf:

What you’ll need:

  • 2 lbs Lean Ground Beef or Turkey
  • 1/4 Cup Ketchup
  • 1/2 Cup Water
  • 1 Package Lipton Beefy Onion Soup Mix
  • 2 Tbs Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1/3 Cup Diced Italian Tomatoes (buy a cheap can)
  • 3/4 Cup of Dry bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • Pyrex Dish

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350° and lightly spray pyrex dish with cooking spray. (Lightly)

Combine the above ingredients in a bowl. Using your fingers loosely fold the meat until everything is combined. You don’t want to MASHED the meat together because it will come out funny. Just use your fingers to break the meat apart and combine everything. Plus it’s pretty fun. LOL I find that if my mixture is too runny, I just add a more bread crumbs.

Once combined empty the meat into the pyrex dish and shape into a loaf. Bake in the oven for about 1 hour. I usually go about 5-10 mins extra just to be safe.

You can also dice up some green peppers for added texture, but I think the tomatoes work just fine!

Meatloaf Sauce

  • Ketchup
  • Brown Sugar

Combine in a small bowl. Spread over the top of the meatloaf about halfway through cooking.


Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower

This is real easy!

What you’ll need:

  • 1 Bag of frozen Cauliflower. You can buy fresh if you like. It’s your world.
  • 2 Tbs Butter
  • 1/2 C Milk
  • 1 Teaspoon Minced Garlic
  • 1 handful of sharp shredded cheese
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Preparation

Boil Cauliflower in a saucepan full of water like you would potatoes. Probably about 15-20 mins will do the trick. Keep your eye on it to make sure they don’t get too mushy. Completely drain and return to the saucepan. Using a potato masher or a fork, mash the cauliflower like you would regular potatoes. Add the butter, garlic, salt, pepper, and cheese. The cauliflower should still be hot as you mash all of these ingredients together. Next add the milk slowly. Keep mashing so you can determine the consistency that you want. Season more to taste. Top with more cheese when you serve.

Yum-tastic! This was a REALLY tasty meal. 🙂 I added broccoli as another side. Loaded with veggies and goodness!

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Comments
One Response to “Meatloaf and Cheesy Mashed Cauliflower”
  1. keisha brown says:

    came across your blog…anything to make me better in the kitchen! im excited to follow your blog!
    this recipe looks delish! i love cauliflower and cheese! cant wait to try it! ; )

Leave a Reply

