Chicken Parmesan

I know I have a lot of Italian styled recipes, but I also have a million more in my repertoire. I don’t know what got me to make this last night, perhaps it was the slim pickins’ in my freezer. Either way, I had never made this before last night and when I tell you I loved it… I LOVED IT!

Here it go!

Chicken Parmesan
Prep Time: 10 mins. Cook Time: 8 mins on skillet, 30 mins in oven.

What you’ll need:

  • 3-4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • 3/4 Cup of Milk
  • 1 egg
  • Bread Crumbs (Italian style or add Italian seasonings to plain)
  • 1 Jar of Spaghetti Sauce or Marinara. (There is a difference)
  • Seasoned Salt
  • Pepper
  • Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
  • Shredded Parmesan Cheese
  • Dried Parsley Flakes
  • Olive Oil

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350º. Heat large skillet over medium-high heat covering the bottom of the pan with a thin layer of olive oil.

Season thawed chicken breasts with seasoned salt and pepper. Allow to sit for a few minutes. I feel like this helps the flavor work into the meat a little bit. In a shallow bowl, mix the egg and the 3/4 cup of milk. In another shallow bowl put about 1- 1 1/2 cups of bread crumbs.

Dredge the seasoned chicken in the egg/milk mixture and then onto the bread crumbs. Make sure the bread crumbs fully cover the chicken. I added some seasoning to the bread crumbs as well. A little bit of extra oregano and basil as well as the seasoned salt.

Carefully ease the chicken down into the hot skillet with the oil. Cook for about 3-4 minutes on each side until lightly golden.

Once the chicken has finished browning, place into a greased Pyrex dish (simply spray with oil). Sprinkle liberally with the Mozzarella cheese. However much you like. Then pour the spaghetti sauce on top. I like to doctor up my sauce, but it’s really not necessary for this dish. Once again, sprinkle with more Mozzarella cheese and the Parmesan cheese.

Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes or until nice and bubbly. Keep an eye on it! Make sure you do the chicken test. Cut a piece to see what color the liquid runs.

Serve atop pasta, sprinkle with parsley flakes! Enjoy!

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Comments
One Response to “Chicken Parmesan”
  1. Denise says:

    I am going to try this. Sounds simple enough. I’m a foodie and I like to “doctor” up my sauce & create new recipes too!

Leave a Reply

