Tender Pot Roast & Veggies

My love for my slow cooker is probably going to become more and more apparent as this blog continues. I’m going to have desserts and all sorts of things that can be made in the crock pot. It’s just so awesome because it’s low maintenance and simple yet produces amazing meals. I know several of my friends have tried my rib recipe since I posted it and they were in love with how tasty it was. So since I know people out there at least have Crock Pots NOW, I decided to post another great recipe to put it to good use. Sure you could make this in a bag in the oven in quicker time, but I find this to be a fun alternative.

I’ll post step by step pictures and even some of the mistakes I made so that you can adjust as well. This is such a great hearty meal.

Tender Pot Roast & Veggies
Prep Time: 20 mins Cook Time: 3-4 hrs on high or 7-8 hours on low.

What You’ll Need:

  • 2 1/2- 3lb round roast. (I used a non-ideal roast chuck. Didn’t like the results)
  • 6-7 large Red or Yukon Gold Potatoes
  • Celery
  • Carrots (You can buy the baby carrots in the bag & skip the skinning & chopping)
  • 1 large yellow onion
  • 1 package McCormicks Pot Roast seasoning
  • 1 Can beef broth
  • 2 tablespoons oil

Preparation:

Start with a good 2 1/2-3 lbs Round Roast. I used something different this time (can’t remember what) and I honestly didn’t like the results. Get something with good marbling, fat running throughout the meat. This cut had fat on the bottom which didn’t really render down like I’d have wanted to help tenderize the meat. It was tender, just not what I typically make. You can salt & pepper and add some seasoned salt now if you like.

Heat the oil in a large skillet over high heat and brown each side of the roast.

Roughly chop the potatoes, onions, celery, and carrots. You can do big chops and use as much of the veggies as you like. I typically end up using about 2 cups of celery cutting 3/4 inch pieces.

Add the roast to the crockpot and pile the vegetables on top.

Mix the McCormicks seasoning with the can of beef broth. (I didn’t do this, instead I just added the seasoning and 1/2 cup of water and the can of beef broth separately. I don’t know how much I liked it that way.)

Cover and cook for the time that you’ve chosen that will best work for you.

Take out and prepare to serve!

It’s really that easy. The whole house will smell amazing.

A few extra things I like to do while the roast is cooking. I scoop up some of the juices and in the measuring cup I add a few teaspoons of flour and brown sugar and whisk to thicken the juices up. Then I add this “gravy” back to the roast which will thicken the rest of the juices up and add some sweet flavor.

Another way to make the gravy awesome is instead of using 1/2 cup of water, use 1/2 cup of Pepsi. It tenderizes the meat and makes the gravy DELICIOUS!

Toast up some rolls and you have a delicious hearty meal that really didn’t require much from you!

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Leave a Reply

