Peach Cobbler So Easy A Caveman Could Do It

Who doesn’t love Peach Cobbler? I mean really. Who doesn’t love it? It’s like Sara Lee. (I recently discovered that the jingle is “Nobody doesn’t like Sara Lee.” I always thought it was “Nobody does it like Sara Lee.” Oh well. iDigress.) Everyone loves it, but it’s so time consuming to make dough, roll it out, make a top crust, lattice the top, all of that. So with that said, here is a recipe passed down to me by my father. I love this recipe so much because it’s easy, quick, and deliciously tasty. Plop some Ice Cream on top, and the whole room will light up. I suggest doubling this recipe in the event that you’re cooking for a crowd because it will surely please the masses.

My Daddy’s Peach Cobbler
Prep time: 10 mins Cook time: 45 mins

What you’ll need:

  • 1/2 Cup of Butter (1 stick)
  • 1 Cup of Milk
  • 1 Cup of Sugar
  • 1 Cup Self-rising Flour. (It must be Self-rising!)
  • 1 Can of Sliced Peaches in syrup
  • 8 X 8 Square Pyrex Dish or 13 X 9 Pyrex if you’re doubling

Preparation:

Preheat oven at 350°.

Put the stick of butter into the pyrex dish and place in oven until the butter has melted. In the meantime, combine the flour, sugar, and milk in a bowl and whisk until moistened and there are no lumps. The batter will be like cake batter, but not as thick.

Carefully remove the Pyrex dish with the melted butter in it (remember it’s hot!) and pour the batter into it. Now you have to move a bit quickly because the pyrex dish is hot so it will start to cook the batter. You will see the butter float and envelope the batter and that’s cool. Great actually. Now take the peach slices right out of the can and place them all in the batter. I try to cover just about every inch of the batter. Then go back and pour the juice/syrup in the batter as well. Pour about half of what remains. Too much and the batter won’t bake properly.

Place dish back into the oven and bake for about 45 mins until the top is golden brown. The batter will rise up over the peaches and look beautiful! Peach Cobbler just like that!

Serve with Ice Cream and have a blast!

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Comments
5 Responses to “Peach Cobbler So Easy A Caveman Could Do It”
  1. yes I love this recipe. I tried it with biquick once and it was okay… yay for Peach Cobbler!! Go Jen!

  2. kenajos says:

    I think I’m going to make this for my Crab Boil this weekend…

  3. Miss Dimples says:

    Question – should I strain the juice from the peaches or pour them straight from the can with the juice?

    • jg14 says:

      I always delicately place each slice with my hands. Then pour the juice on afterwards so I can control how much juice goes in. 🙂

  4. HollyGoLightly says:

    I actually use this same recipe pretty much but I use frozen peaches instead! But you are right this recipe is so easy a caveman could do it!

Leave a Reply

