Fall Off The Bone Ribs

I made these ribs the other day and they were absolutely amazing. I wish I could post a better picture but my camera is broken and I am left to use the Blackberry. Shame on it all.

I got the idea for these because I was in the market and saw some really great beef backed ribs and I was craving them. However, I don’t own a grill, and I couldn’t think of a reasonable way to make them and they still come out tender. My father makes the BEST roasts on the planet and I knew that crock pot cooking is a great way to make a tough piece of meat tender enough to cut with a credit card so I figured I’d put the ribs into the slow-cooker. So this post is less about recipe and more about method of cooking. I have to tell you, this recipe will wow ANYONE and it’s extremely easy.

Fall Off The Bone Ribs

Prep: 15 mins. Cook time:  3-4 Hours on High or 7-8 hours on low.

  • 2 Racks Beef Ribs (I don’t eat pork, but I’m sure you could use pork ribs if you so choose)
  • 1 sweet onion
  • 2 cups 100% Apple Juice (I use this because it adds great flavor to the meat alongside the sauce. If you got it like that, try Simply Apple!)
  • Your choice of seasonings. I use Sea Salt, Seasoning Salt (Lowery’s or Essence of Emeril), and pepper.
  • Your choice of barbecue sauce.

Preparation:

Go ahead and turn the slow-cooker on as you prepare the ribs.

Slice thawed ribs into individual serving pieces making sure to keep the meat even on the bones. Season liberally with your seasons and set to the side.

Slice the onion into strips and place on the bottom of the slow cooker. Add two cups of Apple Juice. Place the ribs into the slow cooker, cover, and cook for about 45 mins without adding sauce. Add sauce and re-cover to cook for the remaining cook time. Monitor every hour or so to make sure ribs are getting TOO tender. You don’t want to make a rib soup.

After the ribs have finished cooking, place them on a pan to rest and get all delicious. I place the onions on top as well. The barbecue sauce will have soaked into the meat, however there should still be a lot of liquid left in the slow-cooker. I pour that into a dish and add extra seasonings to it. A bit of red pepper and some real clover honey will add out of this world flavor and thicken the sauce up. Pour that over the ribs as well.

It will look like this.

Then you can plate it with whatever sides you choose. I made some collards and macaroni & cheese to go alongside my fantastic ribs. I believe I even made a pitcher of real southern Iced Tea too! I’ll post those recipes one day too. So if you have a lot of time on your hands and want to make a fuss-free meal that will wow everyone, try this! Remember, if you’re cooking on high only cook for 3-4 hours, if on low cook for 7-8 hours.

Sugar Kisses!

JG*

Comments
3 Responses to “Fall Off The Bone Ribs”
  1. Reecie says:

    I will definitely have to try apple juice in my ribs next time I fix them. onion too. I was actually looking for some during my last grocery run, but they didn’t have a cut I liked.

  2. Shana says:

    I tried this recipe and the ribs came out so good and so tender. They literally fell off the bone. Thank you for this recipe.

  3. BBQ Recipes says:

    Nice post! It always seems like someone is always looking for a new BBQ or grilling recipe. This looks like a good one to try.

Leave a Reply

